What is diamond color grading?

diamond_4cs_mainpageYou’ve probably heard that diamonds are graded in several common ways. These are frequently referred to as the “Four C’s” of a diamond:

  • Color
  • Clarity
  • Cut
  • Carat weight

At Distinctive Diamonds, we are all about educating the customer so he or she understands exactly what is being purchased, why the pricing is different for different stones, and how to make the best possible decision when it comes to buying that diamond.

The amount of color a diamond contains ranges from colorless or white, to yellow. In general, “good color” means no color – or white. The individual at the laboratory that certifies each diamond is responsible for this gradation. We prefer to use GIA certified as this is the most reputable certification and is the strictest when grading.

The highest rating is GIA certified. After this, stone color gradually declines and is rated as follows:

  • D, E or F diamond stone grades are “colorless”
  • G, H, I, J diamonds are “near colorless”
  • K, L, M diamonds are “faint yellow”
  • N, O, P, Q, R diamonds are “very light yellow,” and
  • S through Z grades are “light yellow.”

There are many exceptions to this grading color rule, however, as “Canary” diamonds are rare and beautiful bright canary yellow – and are often quite expensive.

There are also pink diamonds, often sought after, that can be beautiful. A few are even world famous, such as the tear-shaped one Elizabeth Taylor wore on her finger.

And, a few years ago, black diamonds came into fashion. Black diamonds (which are diamonds that used to be called “carbon diamonds,”) are now graded by cut and carat weight rather than color.

Whatever color diamond you prefer, a vast selection of exceptional quality stones awaits you at Distinctive Diamonds, where Indy gets engaged.


Comments are closed.